Godssecret's Weblog

Those who “know” God are in Awe !!!
October 6, 2011, 7:55 am
Filed under: Awe, Tanya

Summery :

Last week we learned that the Nefesh, Ruach and Neshamah,  consist of ten aspects corresponding to the Ten Supernal Sefirot . The sefirot are of 2 aspects 3 mothers and 7 doubles  being 3  intellectual powers and 7 emotional powers..One way these ‘powers” are manifest is by 10 of the 22 Hebrew letters. As is taught by our father Abraham in his book “Sefer Yetzera” (the Book of Formation).

 In the Bible in its original language “Hebrew” the Soul is called by 5 names, having 5 levels..

Now lets continue with the text of the Tanya :

It  is explained that the intellectual faculty of the soul first conceives any matter by a power called  Chochmah  (Divine creative wisdom-inspiration) which is composed of the two words“ what- power.” . As it is by this power called chuchmah that anything is first conceived by in Divine thought before it materializes in this world.  

Cognition as far as we are concerned begins with what is called Chuchmah. Chuchmah comes like a “flash of lightening” it is a creative thought. All things begin with this moment of “inspiration”. In the same way only when the seed of a idea yet to be developed enters one’s mind as “chuchmah” is it possible for one to eventually define its details and act up it.

When one brings forth a idea from potential into a complete actual thought,. This is, when one contemplates with his intellect on the point in order to understand a matter to its depth. The idea evolves from what he had conceived in his intellectThis is called “Binah” (Understanding)

The creative idea, that is a power of Chuchmah revealed by the name Ya”h and other Divine names can comes  like a flash of light in dark room. That which was not seen, understood, or though at one time possible suddenly appears relevant. It was like this that the Light bulb was created. Before the invention of the light bulb who would have thought such was possible but once the” Chuchmah”  was revealed for the foundation of  wisdom involved in the engineering of the light bulb through Bina, the power of objective intellect.  The creative thought is probed, analyzed and developed then a light bulb could be made, it is like this with all things.

They (Chochmah and Binah) are the  “father” and “mother” which give birth to love of God, and awe and fear of Him.

Awe is the higher level, this is acquired when one comes to “know” God. This is by experience, such is earned by learning the Torah and doing Mitzvot (the commandments) and especially according to ones upright character always acting in kindness to all creations. Then one realizes who they are standing before and they are then always in Awe. Before acquiring this  “awe” one must first come to the fear of God’s punishment.

Which is a lower level than the Awe described above but until one has respect for their father in Heaven enough to know he sees all and is thus afraid to transgress against Him he has not any ‘real’ awe of God’s greatness as such a person does not really “know” God at all.