Godssecret's Weblog


New Spirit
August 18, 2008, 10:50 am
Filed under: Great Days, messiah redemption, push off evil, redemption messiah

 ” For the day of  YHVH  shall be upon every one that is  proud and lofty, and every one that is lifted up shall be brought low ” (2:12)

   The Radak explains in the ” day of Hashem ” all will recognize his kingship, by this the arrogant will be brought low. Now that we have looked externally at what will happen. Now we shall look at what will happen internally, spiritually to the Hebrew people, the nations around us and the world itself according to the prophesy of Jeremiah:

 

                        ” Behold I will gather them out of all the countries I have scattered them in my anger, and in my fury and in great wrath. I will bring them back to this place. I will cause them to dwell safely. They will be my people and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way. That they may fear me forever for their good, and that of their children after them. I will make an everlasting covenant with them. I will not turn away from doing good to them, but I will put my fear in their hearts and they shall not turn aside from me. I will rejoice over them to do them good, and I will truly plant them in this land with my whole heart and my whole soul. Thus says YHVH   just as I have brought all this great evil on this people. So will I bring upon them all the good that I have promised them ” (32:37-43)

    Rashi says we will be gathered together in mercy from all places. The Metsudat David explains Israel will be as one heart, meaning there will be no more doubt, and they will not ignore any of my words to desecrate them, but all as one will go in the way of the fear of Hashem for all days forever more. Now we have looked at how Jeremiah describes the changes that take place in the heart’s of Hashem’s children Israel. Now we shall look for further clarification in this matter from the Prophet Ezekiel:

 

                             ” For I will gather you from all the nations and take you from all the countries, and bring you into your own land. Then I will sprinkle clean water on you and you shall be clean from all of your uncleanness, and from your idols I will cleanse you. A new heart I will give you. A new spirit I will put in you, I will take the stony heart out of your flesh. I will give you a heart of flesh. I will put my spirit within you and cause you to follow my statutes and keep my judgments to do them. You will dwell in the land I gave to your fathers. You will be my people and I will be your God. I will save you from your uncleanness. I will call the corn and make it abundant. You will no more receive the reproach of famine among the nations ” (36:24-30)

     The Radak explains ” I will sprinkle purifying water on you and you shall be clean “, Just as those who are impure become pure by immersing in the pure water of a Mikvah, so too those who sin and are impure from iniquity will be purified in atonement. Explaining ” I will put a new heart and new spirit within you ” the Radak says that there shall be to them a heart that hears and a  Ruach (spirit) that is true to receive the words of the blessed one in love. The heart and spirit will be in awe. The Metsudat David say Hashem’s name will be sanctified when he takes us from the nations. Concerning the “purifying water” we learn we will receive atonement from our iniquities, and there will pass away the impurity of our sin in the sprinkling of the ashes of the red heifer, purifying us from the impurity of death. The aspect of “new heart” is described by the Metsudat David as upright and driven to fulfill a will that is good. From the “new spirit” there will return prophecy, which has been missing all the days of exile. With the renewal of prophecy is the coming of the forbearer of the Messiah as described in the words of the Prophet Malachi:

 

                              ” Behold I will send My messenger and He shall clear the way before me, and ADON  who you seek shall suddenly come into his temple, and the messenger of the covenant whom you delight in. Behold He shall come says YHVH TSVAOT. Who shall abide the day of his coming. Who shall stand when he appears. For He is like the refiners fire, like the washers soap. He shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver, and shall purify the son’s of Levi, and purge them as Silver and Gold that they may offer to YHVH an offering in righteousness. Then shall the offerings of Yehudah and Jerusalem be pleasant to YHVH as in days of old and former years ” (3:1-4). The Prophet Malachi also states:

 

                                  ”  Behold I will send you Eliyahu HaNavi before the coming of the great and dreadful day of YHVH and He shall turn the heart of children to their fathers, lest I come and smite the land with a curse ” (3:23)

      The sages identify the messenger of the covenant as Eliyahu the Prophet. The Radak tells us that Eliyahu will judge separating those who have merit from those that are wicked. The Metsudat David says like in days of old  a fire will come down from heaven to consume the sacrifice on the alter. In Perke R. Yashiyha it states that when Mashiach and Eliyahu first reveal themselves they will not be believed. They will be asked to perform miracles to prove they are who they say. Mashiach will perform  miracles. First he will bring to Yisrael Moshe and the generation of the desert. 2nd he will raise up Korach. 3rd He will resurrect Nachemyah ben Chusial (He is Mashiach ben Yosef Who was killed at the gates of Yerushalym). 4th He will reveal the ark, mana and annointing oil that was hidden. 5th all the mountains of Yisrael will sprout wheat. He will reveal secrets of the Torah. Then the hearts of fathers will turn to their sons.1

1.    1Perke R. Yashiyha ,Perke Mashiach-Atzerot midrashim p.203,392

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

